Out of Line: A Life of Playing with Fire
April 11, 2017

Available now for Pre-Order

In this funny, fierce, and poignant memoir, world-renowned chef and restaurateur Barbara Lynch recounts her rise from a hard-knocks South Boston childhood to culinary stardom.  

Lynch credits the defiant spirit of her upbringing in tough, poor "Southie," a neighborhood ruled by the notorious Whitey Bulger gang, with helping her bluff her way into her first professional cooking jobs and develop a distinct culinary style through instinct and sheer moxie.  She now oversees seven celebrated restaurants ranging from a casual but elegant "clam shack" to Boston's epitome of modern haute cuisine.

One of seven children born to an overworked single mother, Lynch was raised in a housing project.  She earned a daredevil reputation for boosting anything on four wheels (even a city bus), petty theft, drinking and doing drugs, and narrowly escaping arrest -- haunted all the while by a painful buried trauma.

Out of Line describes Lynch's remarkable process of self-invention, including her encounters with colorful characters of the food world, and vividly evokes the magic of creation in the kitchen.  It is also a love letter to South Boston and its vanishing culture


Pre-Order Today

Signed copies of Out of Line may be purchased at any Barbara Lynch Gruppo Restaurant.


Join Chef Barbara Lynch During Her Book Tour!

BOSTON

Tuesday, April 4 | evening
Stories You Can Taste
Menton

Wednesday, April 12 | 12pm
Cooking Demonstration & Book Signing
Northeastern University Xhibition Kitchen

Wednesday, April 12 | 6pm
Book Signing & Reception
The Butcher Shop

Tuesday, April 18 | 6pm (doors at 5:30pm)
Author Discussion with Ihsan Gurda
The Brattle Theater, Cambridge

Wednesday, April 19 | 11:30am
Full Plate Lunch - SOLD OUT
Menton

Wednesday, April 26 | 6pm
Author Talk & Tasting
Boston University

Thursday, April 27 | 5pm
Book Signing at RISE Music Series
Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

Friday, April 28 | 7pm
Author Q&A & Book Signing
Wellesley Books, Wellesley

Saturday, April 29 | 3pm
Author Q&A & Book Signing
Bookends, Winchester

Wednesday, May 3 | 7pm
Author Q&A & Book Signing
Porter Square Books, Cambridge

Wednesday - Sunday, May 17 - 21
Nantucket Wine & Food Festival

Thursday, June 8 | 6pm
Conversation & Cooking Lesson
Milk Street

Thursday, June 29
Author Q&A & Book Signing
The Bookstore of Gloucester

September 29
Reception + Book Signing
Winton Club, Winchester

 

NEW YORK

Saturday - Sunday, April 8 - 9
Cherry Bombe Jubilee - SOLD OUT

Tuesday, May 9 | 6:30pm
Demonstration Class
La Scuola, Eataly Flatiron

Wednesday, May 10 | 7pm
Interview with Chef and Author Gabrielle Hamilton
92nd Street Y

 

Philadelphia

Monday, April 24 | 6:30pm
Book & Author Dinner
Vetri Cucina

 

Denver

Thursday, May 11 | 6:30pm
Book & Author Dinner
Coohills

 

Charleston

Saturday, June 10 | 5pm
Author Q&A & Book Signing
Blue Bicycle Books

Sunday - Tuesday, June 11 - 13
Fab Conference

 

Ann Arbor

Tuesday - Wednesday, June 20 - 21
Cooking Classes
Zingerman’s Bakehouse

 

Portland

Thursday - Sunday, September 14 - 17
Feast Portland

 

Austin

Monday, October 9 | 2pm
Cooking Demonstration
Lake Austin Spa